19
Nov
09

Lulibags – Handmade Christmas and a New Years Fancy Dress

top-image

Grey Furry Mini Messenger Bag

 

“I use mostly vintage fabrics, sourced from old dresses, curtains, off-cuts and whatever else I can get my hands on. I like to complement these finds with a variety of modern fabrics.”

Tell us a bit about your craft and what you sell.
I design and make a variety of bags, including handbags/totes, clutch purses, wristlets, knitting/crochet project bags (with matching needle holders), pouches and makeup bags. Each bag is crafted with care and attention from my own design. I use mostly vintage fabrics, sourced from old dresses, curtains, off-cuts and whatever else I can get my hands on. I like to compliment these finds with a variety of modern fabrics. I also use fine soft leather and suede sourced from one of the top London leather suppliers (which was established in 1938 and stocks every colour imaginable!). My bags are fully lined with either satin or printed cottons.

Etsy is worldwide now. Where are you from. what’s it like?
I live in South East London, England. I enjoy living here because it is conveniently close to the city centre, culturally diverse and relatively cheap. Also, I live in walking distance of some lovely parkland, which is high enough to give a panorama (great for photos). My local town centre is a little rough and ready, but has an excellent market with bargains galore and a fantastic fabric shop.

How do you celebrate Christmas?
I celebrate Christmas Day with my family, which always involves an incredibly early start for the benefit of my young nieces. Obviously we give and receive gifts (I try to hand make all of mine), then we see local family members and enjoy a huge meal. Once I am able to move again, I travel to my boyfriend’s parents’ house for their traditional crazy New Year fancy dress party. His parents are fortunate to live very close to the Lake District which is an incredibly beautiful part of the UK. We try to go rambling to burn off some of the Christmas excess…

 

lulubags-3

Extra Large Oilcloth Pouch, Green Daisy Knitting/Crochet Project Bag and Matching Holder and Olive Stripe Mini Messenger Bag

What is your favourite item in your shop? Who do you think this would make a great Christmas present for?
My oilcloth flock-style wash bags. The material is both practical and stylish, the pattern and colours really striking. They would make a great Christmas present for any girls or ladies out there, either as a matching set or to hold other wrapped gifts; like a Christmas pass-the-parcel which you don’t have to share!

What is your shopping deadline to ensure that gift arrives before Christmas?
My shipping deadlines in respect of standard post are as follows:
UK and Northern Ireland: Monday 21st December 2009
USA, Canada, Eastern Europe and Japan: Thursday 10th December 2009
Western Europe and the Republic of Ireland: Friday 11th December 2009
Australia, New Zealand and any other destinations not listed above: Friday 4th December 2009.
For all those last-minute shoppers in the UK or Northern Ireland, I am happy to post via Special Delivery; the last date for this being Wednesday 23rd December 2009. I am also able to ship to other foreign destinations later in December via more expensive couriers.
Please convo me for any shipping methods/prices not listed in my shop.

Where can we find you online?
I’ve very recently set up the following blog: www.lulibags.blogspot.com, where I plan to share my Etsy finds and give simple sewing hints and tips for any would-be crafters out there. I will also be giving ideas for vintage fashion, home décor and anything else creative which takes my fancy.

You can also find me on Facebook and Twitter:
www.facebook.com/pages/LuliBags/141458834376?ref=ts
www.twitter.com/LuliBags

I’d like to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and thank Alice and Stian for featuring me on this blog!

 

0 Responses to “Lulibags – Handmade Christmas and a New Years Fancy Dress”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweets


